Built to last: the most durable dehumidifiers, 5 long-warranty picksMost durable dehumidifiers → See the list

Updated October 2026 · 5 dehumidifiers, no paid placements

Best Energy Efficient Dehumidifiers in 2026

A basement unit can run from May to October, so the power bill is part of the price. All five dehumidifiers here state ENERGY STAR certification in their own listing. Ranked on buyer ratings, review volume and specs, with the catch of each one spelled out.

In short

Want the efficient pick without a spreadsheet? Start with the Yaufey 120-Pint, 6,000 sq ft. The other four carry the same label and differ on size and drainage. Only one variant per listing family is ranked, so these are five distinct ENERGY STAR units.

Written from each listing's specs and buyer reviews, not from our own use · How we rate

The ranking in detail

1Yaufey 120-Pint, 6,000 sq ft
Basement dehumidifiers · Yaufey · Top pick

Yaufey 120-Pint, 6,000 sq ft

9.6Excellent · out of 10

Also available as: 80-Pint, 5,500 sq ft (80 pints/day, 5,500 sq ft)

Best for: whole-basement moisture, not one corner

  • ENERGY STAR (listing)
  • 120 pints/day stated (at saturation)
  • Covers up to 6,000 sq ft (listing)

The catch: The Yaufey listing gives no defrost or low-temperature limit, unlike most of this list.

4.5/5 from buyers6,463 buyer reviews, shared by 4 variants$224.99 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed
2AEOCKY Commercial, 8,000 sq ft
Basement dehumidifiers · AEOCKY · Runner-up

AEOCKY Commercial, 8,000 sq ft

9.6Excellent · out of 10

Also available as: Commercial, 6,000 sq ft (105 pints/day, 6,000 sq ft) · 80-Pint, 5,500 sq ft (80 pints/day, 5,500 sq ft)

Best for: a large finished basement on one machine

  • ENERGY STAR Most Efficient (listing)
  • 140 pints/day stated
  • Covers up to 8,000 sq ft (listing)

The catch: No hose outlet or pump mentioned for the AEOCKY, so plan on the bucket.

4.5/5 from buyers6,781 buyer reviews, shared by 3 variants$339.93 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed
3Kesnos 120-Pint, 6,500 sq ft
Basement dehumidifiers · Kesnos · Top 5 pick

Kesnos 120-Pint, 6,500 sq ft

9.5Excellent · out of 10

Also available as: 80-Pint with Drain Hose (80 pints/day, 6,000 sq ft) · 2,500 sq ft Energy Star (30 pints/day, 2,500 sq ft)

Best for: a large, open basement that stays damp all summer

  • ENERGY STAR (listing)
  • 120 pints/day stated (at saturation)
  • Covers up to 6,500 sq ft (listing)

The catch: The 120-pint figure is rated at 95 °F and 90 % humidity; a cool basement gets less.

4.5/5 from buyers4,212 buyer reviews, shared by 3 variants$249.99 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed
4Waykar 120-Pint, Auto Swing
Basement dehumidifiers · Waykar · Top 5 pick

Waykar 120-Pint, Auto Swing

9.4Excellent · out of 10

Also available as: 80-Pint, Auto Swing (80 pints/day, 5,000 sq ft)

Best for: a finished basement that feels clammy

  • ENERGY STAR (listing)
  • 120 pints/day stated (at saturation)
  • Covers up to 6,000 sq ft (listing)

The catch: Its 4.3/5 buyer rating ties for the lowest of these five.

4.3/5 from buyers22,513 buyer reviews, shared by 2 variants$244.99 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed
5Kesnos 120-Pint, Front Display
Basement dehumidifiers · Kesnos · Top 5 pick

Kesnos 120-Pint, Front Display

9.2Excellent · out of 10

Best for: the typical damp basement with a floor drain nearby

  • ENERGY STAR (listing)
  • 120 pints/day stated (at saturation)
  • Covers up to 6,500 sq ft (listing)

The catch: The 6,500 sq ft claim is the seller's best case, not a sizing result.

4.3/5 from buyers3,185 buyer reviews$309.99 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed

Product images: Amazon listings

Best rated by stated coverage

The best-rated model for each coverage band its listing states, among the 61 listings eligible for this ranking (one per listing family). Size first, then take the efficient pick in your row.

Up to 2,500 sq ftMidea 22-Pint · 7.9/10 · 1,500 sq ft · 22 pints/day
2,501 to 5,000 sq ftAEOCKY 5,000 sq ft Energy Star · 8.8/10 · 5,000 sq ft
Over 5,000 sq ftYaufey 120-Pint, 6,000 sq ft (#1) · 9.6/10 · 6,000 sq ft · 120 pints/day

How to choose

What the ENERGY STAR label tells you, and what it doesn't

ENERGY STAR certifies a dehumidifier on its Integrated Energy Factor: liters of water removed per kilowatt-hour, under the DOE rating procedure. The label tells you a model clears the bar for its size. It doesn't tell you by how much, and most listings never print the figure. Of the 61 eligible listings, one states a liters-per-kWh number and 17 claim the "Most Efficient" mark.

So we rank the certified units on ratings and specs, and show any stated efficiency figure next to the unit. Before you count on a utility rebate, look up the exact model number in the ENERGY STAR product finder; a brand being certified says nothing about the variant in your cart. The ENERGY STAR guide explains how to compare the figures, and a unit sized right for the room (see the sizing guide) saves more than any label.

Comparison table

All 5 on one screen. Tap a column header to sort by what matters in your basement: pints, square feet, or where the water goes.

Comparison table: Best Energy Efficient Dehumidifiers in 2026
Yaufey 120-Pint, 6,000 sq ftYaufey9.6$224.99†120 pints/day6,000 sq ftDrain hose (gravity)1-year warranty6,463 (shared)*
AEOCKY Commercial, 8,000 sq ftAEOCKY9.6$339.93†140 pints/day8,000 sq ftNot stated3-year warranty6,781 (shared)*
Kesnos 120-Pint, 6,500 sq ftKesnos9.5$249.99†120 pints/day6,500 sq ftDrain hose (gravity)Not stated4,212 (shared)*
Waykar 120-Pint, Auto SwingWaykar9.4$244.99†120 pints/day6,000 sq ftDrain hose (gravity)1-year warranty22,513 (shared)*
Kesnos 120-Pint, Front DisplayKesnos9.2$309.99†120 pints/day6,500 sq ftDrain hose (gravity)2-year warranty3,185

† Prices as of Sep 30, 2026; they may have changed. The button always shows today's price.

* Shared: the same review pool appears on every variant of a listing family (Yaufey, 4 variants; AEOCKY, 3 variants; Kesnos, 3 variants; Waykar, 2 variants), so the count is not specific to one variant.

How we rank

Every model gets a rating out of 10 from its exact listing: what buyers give it, how many of them there are, and how completely the seller documents the specs. The highest unrounded result wins; on an exact tie, the listing identifier decides.

When a #1 pick carries a rating we set ourselves, its formula result always sits right next to it. We haven't run these units in a basement of our own, and a commission never moves a rating or a rank.

  • 45 % buyer rating, damped when a listing has fewer than 50 reviews.
  • 35 % review volume, on a logarithmic scale up to 5,000 reviews.
  • 20 % documentation: feature bullets, images and stated brand of the listing.
  • Pints per day, coverage and drainage are shown only when the exact listing states them; seller test conditions vary, and we measure nothing ourselves.
  • One slot per listing family: variants of one parent listing, which usually share one review pool, count once and are listed under the best-rated variant.
  • Prices carry the date we recorded them. They may have changed since; the button shows today's offer.

Frequently asked questions

Which is the best energy efficient dehumidifier in 2026?

Our pick is the Yaufey 120-Pint, 6,000 sq ft, at 9.6/10 (excellent), straight from the formula. It has 6,463 buyer reviews averaging 4.5/5, a review pool shared by the Yaufey listing family (4 variants); its listing states 120 pints/day and up to 6,000 sq ft. Close behind: the AEOCKY Commercial, 8,000 sq ft at 9.6/10.

How is this ranking built?

We start from 61 dehumidifiers whose own listing states ENERGY STAR certification, each with a buyer review record. Each one gets a rating out of 10: 45 % buyer rating, 35 % review volume and 20 % how completely the listing documents its specs. Variants of one listing family (same parent listing or the same shared review pool) share a single slot: the best-rated variant represents the family, and the others are listed under it.

Are ENERGY STAR dehumidifiers worth it?

For a basement unit that runs for months, usually yes: the certified models remove more water per kWh than the minimum for their size, and some utilities pay a rebate on them. Check that the exact model number is on the ENERGY STAR list, not just the brand.

Which dehumidifier states the best efficiency?

Among the 61 eligible listings, the Avylo 90-Pint with Pump, White (2.05 L/kWh) is the only one that prints a liters-per-kWh figure. It is a seller figure, and a figure without its rating conditions is hard to compare.

How much does it cost to run a dehumidifier?

Multiply the unit's power draw (from the manual or the nameplate) by the hours it actually runs and your electricity rate. The humidistat matters as much as the label: a unit set to 50 % switches its compressor off once the room gets there.

Is a bigger dehumidifier less efficient?

Not per pint. A unit sized for the space reaches the set point and cycles off; an undersized one runs flat out all day. Our selection tool gives a starting size.

Are the prices up to date?

Each price is the one we recorded on Sep 30, 2026, and it may have changed since. The button always opens the exact listing with today's price and seller.

Have you used these dehumidifiers yourselves?

No, we haven't run these units in a basement of our own. The ratings come from what buyers say and from the specs stated in each exact listing, weighed with a formula we publish.